Annual Dinner & Awards Night 2023

14 December 2023

Dave Scott

A great evening, with a great guest!

Our Annual Dinner & Awards Night proved popular as ever, with 59 attendees - including, for the first time, 7 partners/guests of members.

The evening was made even more special by the attendance of our Honorary Member, Johan Museeuw (aka the 'Lion of Flanders'). Johan agreed to present the prizes, and after dinner ran a Q&A session. There were questions on his professional career, what he enjoyed most (and least!) about riding on English roads, and tips on how to ride the Carfax cobbles.

Along with the usual racing prizes (list here) Johan handed over the award for Club Member of the Year to Ken Cullern, who has put so much effort into timekeeping and marshalling at our TTs over many years; and to Phil Starling, for his excellent Chainline article on the Ypres Battlefields Tour.

Thanks also to Richard Pendlebury for organising the evening and Stewart Forbes for organising the prizes; also Ian Ryder for volunteering as official photographer (see slideshow below); and Oliver Cannon for assembling an excellent Instagram reel - just follow @horshamcycling for a peek!


Getting in the spirit

Club Member of the Year: Ken Cullern

Mike Carr Social Groups Downhill Trophy AND Anne Maher Women's Downhill Trophy: Lisa Laws

Chainline Award: Phil Starling

Scratch Trophy AND Peter Delve Points Trophy: Lewis Reeves

Veterans' Trophy: Tony Brown

Points Trophy (Ladies), 25-mile TT Trophy, Ladies Hillclimb Trophy AND Zwift Best Improver: Tina Lohr

Zwift (Most consistent): Simon Tuck

25-mile TT: Sam Leach

Scratch Trophy (Road Bikes): James Newland (collected by dad David)

Some Social socialising

Quizzing the Lion


aaand.. time to go home!

See you at the 2024 Dinner!