Open Event 2021

Horsham Open 10 Mile TT G10/97 - Saturday 19th June

Here is the link to the CTT website for details and entering the event.

This is also a National Youth Campionship event.

Open Event 2018

Horsham Open 10 Mile TT G10/97 - Saturday 23rd June

A new course this year for the annual Horsham Cycling Open 10 TT as we travelled down to Steyning because of the road changes on the A264. It's a slower 10 but has the benefit of only 5 roundabout junctions to be negotiated. A small but high quality field with nine club members participating. Keeping with the old tradition of the home club having the first rider off, I rolled off the start line to confirm the signs were out and all the marshals in place. Great conditions for racing as the sun was out early and the wind minimal, this was reflected in the finish times with the top 3 being only just over the 20 minute mark. The overall winner was Chris McNamara (Nuun-Sima Sport-London RT) with a time of 20:01, closely followed by his brother Simon 5 seconds back.

Olivia Webb of Eastbourne Rovers CC came first in the Women's Comp, beating Angela Radden-Rutt by just 7 seconds. It was great to see Alan Robinson of Central Sussex CC take the Veterans Competition, he's 77 and still racing tt's with very good times being recorded. The team award went to South Downs Bikes, with HC coming second.

Dale Baldwin was fastest club rider followed by myself, Tony Brown, Jacob Cann, Tim Peters, Angel Radden-Rutt, Brian Jones, Neil Cann and Ryan Wightwick.

Many thanks to all the club members who helped out of the day - Stew Forbes, Malcom Curtis, Ray Watson, Keith Shuttlewood, Ken Cullern, Colin Ferry, Dave Manders, Jose Espinosa, Peter Delve, Philip Van Der Veen, daughter and Beatrix.

Old Portlians TT G25/93 - Sunday 24th June

Not satisfied with one early morning this weekend I thought I would unwind with a 25 mile tt this morning. Another fine day, and I was joined by fellow club member Bryn Reeves. I managed a course pb of 59:39 on the hilly route based around the Ashurst loop and Steyning 10. It was Bryn's first time back on the tt bike for a few weeks and the body was feeling the effects over the rolling terrain. Chris McNamara managed to double up and took the overall win again.


Jon Fry

Organiser:  Jon Fry.

Flat 4 Stanmore House, 118-120 High Street, Billingshurst, West Sussex, RH14 9QS